Page 1 of 1
Giant slime under AoS and v4 client
Posted:
Sun Jun 06, 2004 7:41 am
by SDonald
Drocket,
Do you have problems with a V4 client running on AoS when a giantslime is created?
The client simply crashes (whether having used .lbr command or not) with an XP message about sending an error report to Microsoft.
Just as it dies, you see a green ogre which is the lowest objtype possible.... so something is screwy.
I might just leave them out of mining.
Giantslimes are ok under v2 client.
Regards,
Stephen Donald.
Posted:
Fri Jun 11, 2004 8:35 am
by Gandir
Just use a different graphic for the giant slimes. I never found out exactly what the problem was, but it seems like that graphic/animation may have been replaced. You will need to replace the Leviathan graphic also.
Posted:
Fri Jun 11, 2004 11:01 am
by SDonald
Gandir,
Thanks for confirming that....
More importantly thanks for the warning on the Leviathan.
Of slightly more interest, ignoring realms for now, the scripts seem to work well under 096. The odd local declarations and '=' symbols easily fixed.
Can probably change a def file and use something else. Will get around to it!
Regards,
Stephen Donald.
Posted:
Fri Jun 11, 2004 5:56 pm
by Dell-Leafsong
Speaking of 0.96....where did y'all find the 0.96 core?
Posted:
Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:56 pm
by Caramon
It is available from the pol-core-test group on groups.yahoo.com. Or this link:
http://f4.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/IPPJQIVt6S ... -05-20.zip
Not sure how that link will come through
Posted:
Fri Jun 11, 2004 8:02 pm
by Gandir
Just out of curiosity...
I haven't tried POL 0.96 yet, since I have been kept busy just fixing LBR/AoS-related stuff for quite a while now, but have you run into Push-Through issues with the 4.x clients? If so, did the realm settings in POL 0.96 fix the problem for you? Sounds like the realm settings gave you some problems?
I tried sending that packet under POL 0.95 but I must not have had the format right because I got black screens for most settings. I haven't been able to look deeper into it lately, so I am very curious about whatever you may have found out.
Thanks!
-Gandir
Posted:
Sat Jun 12, 2004 2:51 am
by SDonald
I am aware of pushthrough issues for v4 when you don't have 100 stamina.
Making map switching is the hard part of going to 096. As long as you stay in Brittania all is well.
This whole v4 thing is not going to make people happy I'm afraid, but we still need to do it to progress.
Posted:
Sat Jun 12, 2004 7:14 am
by Gandir
I have already done it on our shard and folks eventually got used to it. Had to do it to support AoS mobs, which our Admin really wanted. For LBR it isn't necessary of course.
I was hoping that switching realms would enable push-through with the 4.x clients. I am not sure how the whole realm thing works with different maps, etc., but if I could set it to the one realm that supports push-through and use our custom map for that realm, I'd be happy. Guess I'll have to play with POL 0.96 when I get time. hehe
Thanks!
Posted:
Thu Jul 01, 2004 4:52 am
by Gandir
Just an update to this... I finally came back to this because of a post in one of the Yahoo forums and retried the packet that Drocket had in his "login.src" file... and it worked! I know I tried sending the very same packet before (I used cut-and-paste, so I know it was the same) and it didn't work. I am not sure what else I changed that makes it work now, except that we are using a slightly different client now than we were before (now using 4.0.0o).
This only applies to shards that have AoS enabled and have their players use a 4.x client (with LBR you can use a 3.x client and bypass this issue). Anyway, here is the code that I have at the start of my logon.src file if anybody is having push-through issues:
- Code: Select all
// Do AoS stuff quick
var account := who.acct;
if(account.GetProp("AOS"))
// Turn on AoS features
SendPacket(who, "B9801B");
// Send Map Packet to enable walk-through
SendPacket(who, "BF0006000801");
SendPacket (who, "BC0101");
who.setlightlevel (0, 0);
else
// AoS Message if they don't have it enabled.
SendSysMessage (who, "To see the AoS NPCs you need to use this command one time only: .aos on <Enter>.", FONT_BOLD, MESSAGE_COLOR_WARNING);
SendSysMessage (who, "Once you do this, it will be set for all of your characters.", FONT_BOLD, MESSAGE_COLOR_WARNING);
endif
You will probably also want to use some variation of the "pushthrough" script to debit a bit of stamina whenever someone walks through a hostile mob. I believe Drocket has his at \pol\pkg\character\syshook_pushthrough.src so that's a good place to start.
Hope that helps some folks!